Return to Glossary Index


The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) contains the rules and regulations of Federal agencies in a codified format, similar to the U.S. Code, which codifies laws enacted by Congress. The CFR is divided into 50 titles or subject areas, each broken down into chapters, subchapters, parts, and sections. Each agency's regulations are found in one or more chapters of the CFR, depending on the function and variety of that agency's responsibilities. The Nuclear Regulatory Commission's regulations, for example, appear in Chapter 1 of Title 10.

The CFR comprises approximately 202 volumes and totals approximately 138,000 pages. Each title of the CFR is revised annually at which time all of the additions and amendments to that title which have appeared in the Federal Register over the past year are inserted into their proper places. In the meantime, changes can be found in the List of CFR Sections Affected. The CFR is now available on-line at and at

This glossary was first compiled by The Regulatory Group, Inc., for its training courses more than 20 years ago. It is constantly being amended and revised to stay current with the developments in the Federal regulatory process. Please contact us if you have any questions, thoughts or suggestions on how this glossary can be further improved.
Copyright 2002, All Rights Reserved
The Regulatory Group, Inc.
1015 18th Street, NW, Suite 500, Washington, D.C. 20036   (703) 224-9000